Anthology

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

April Genevieve Tucholke

Language: English

Pages: 400

ISBN: 0147514088

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA

Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, Cat Winters

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.

Galactic Dreams

A Terrifying Taste of Short & Shivery: Thirty Creepy Tales

The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century

The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

me at the edge of the yard,” she told him. Dropping the curtain, she pulled on jeans under her nightgown and grabbed the closest pair of shoes. Silently she slid her bare feet across the hardwood floors, easing down the stairs and out through the back door. Tommy waited for her by the woods. She was already running by the time she reached him, and she didn’t slow. He chased after her. “Wait, what were you doing out in the forest?” It was a stupid question and so she didn’t answer him. Though it

needle in her arm. The room tipped and she hit the white floor with a loud crack. She saw the soles of Louise’s purple Crocs. They were caked with something black and foul. I’m going to die here, she thought, and then the world went dark. × × × By the time they got home from the airport, it was late and they’d missed the sunset. Kara walked through the house, turning on lights. “No cornbread?” Jaycee asked, eyes roaming over the immaculate kitchen. Like the rest of the house, it was all clean,

stare I’d ever encountered. He was handsome, but not like the jock good-looks of Shawn Coleman or the model-y thing that James had going. Damien looked like something out of a book—a Heathcliff, someone dark and brooding but with just the tiniest hint—was it his mouth? his eyes?—of humor. “Sorry about those guys,” he said, messing up his black hair and then shoving his hand into a pocket. “Why should you be sorry? You didn’t make them idiots.” He laughed. His nose scrunched up a little when

person. “I lied before when I said I thought you were less boring than everyone else. I will never lie to you again. I knew already. Just today in class you wished you had the power to get rid of her. I know what you think. I know every dirty thought and every sweet one. I know what movies you like and how much you hate your dad and that you sometimes wish your mother had just taken you with her.” My stomach twisted. “What I think and what I actually do are two different things. That’s what

Stalk through the house, toward the back door. Pizza boxes and dirty dishes and dust bunnies in the corners. She wanted to sit on the porch tonight. Listen to the crickets sing. Insisted I drag her from the bed, wheel her out to watch the sunset. It can’t be good for her skin, but I didn’t have the strength to argue. I push open the back door, stare down at her in her wheelchair. All the crickets in the yard fall silent. Like they’re waiting. She looks so small. So thin. I know it must be hard

Download sample

Download